A bucketload of cuteness

Look for something in anything and find it everywhere. And so I looked for cuteness on a metro construction site in Mumbai and I found it in a JCB* .

Frolicking at every construction site, the ubiquitous JCB is a splash of yellow, hauling earth away, like a committed little clockwork toy. It’s tiny and shiny, going about its business: an earnest earthmover, endearing us with its antics. A performer with a personality.

I see a JCB in the mornings as I leave for work. Like a newly minted class leader, the JCB saunters in and gets busy … almost bullying other sluggish machines to wake up and look at the piles of work to be done. It has an efficient air and a lean mean body designed to be productive in a silent way. And that impish look it has simply makes it my favourite machine ( not that I have a list! ) It’s like Noddy’s Toyland , or Bob the Builder’s world has come alive.

I know it’s a weapon of demolition and excavation. Mumbai has been seeing traffic snarls and heavy traffic congestion due to metro work. Trees have been cut and the urban landscape has changed forever under the promise of improving travel time and better connectivity. And that’s the question every mumbaikar has : connectivity at what cost? Well, time will tell if that happens and to what extent quality of life will improve.

Meanwhile, I look at the sunny yellow JCB going about it’s business , a persevering Bessie Bug or a Dung Beetle ; I cross my fingers and pray for better times to come to Mumbai and try to keep myself excited and inspired by the upcoming Metro station that’s growing like a monstrosity close to my house.

Some quick Watercolor sketches of the JCB before it moves away

*JCB manufactures equipments for construction, agriculture and demolition. It is the world’s third largest manufacturer of construction equipment. It produces over 300 types of machines like diggers, tractors, excavators and diesel engines etc. JCB’s products are sold over 150 countries.

The jcb has inspired songs and memes due to its cuteness and color pop

10 thoughts on “A bucketload of cuteness

  1. Pingback: A JCB and a Poet – write- share-communicate

  2. Pingback: Naturally normal… – write- share-communicate

Leave a comment